Magical rainbow ponies

Adding effects to my setup. Got alot of questions.

(6 posts)

Tags:

1. adamv

I just got into adding some effects to my setup and want to make sure i get the best sound out of what I am working with. My question is: Do you set your amp settings first and then adjust the pedals accordingly or the other way around or do you set the amp kind of flat and then add effects? Also do you guys get the knobs on your guitar dialed in before the amp is setup or wait until the amp and pedals are dialed in to do that? I hope the questions aren't to confusing. I've been playing straight into the amp since I started playing and all this stuff is really new to me. Thanks in advance guys. I love this forum and everyone on it.

Edit page
  2. adamv

Sorry one more. In what order do you set the pedals? going down the effects chain? what is the order of the effects chain anyways? sorry i guess a couple more. I'm just really confused and terrible when it comes to these kinds of things. Then my OCD kicks in and i just can't stop thinking i'm doing everything wrong.

3. jbroad

4. smoke

Do you set your amp settings first and then adjust the pedals accordingly or the other way around or do you set the amp kind of flat and then add effects?

I set my basic amp tone, which is an older Pro Reverb, like I like it - good, punchy clean tone with reverb. I play a strat so there can be quite a difference in tone between the pickups. I will try to hit a middle ground between the tone of all of the pickup positions since I shift around a lot.

I run everything into the front of the amp which includes wah, volume pedal, two overdrives, tremolo, delay, and looper. I have delay on at all times so I spent a lot of time dialing it in to where it adds 'depth' but doesn't blur single note lines.