Alternate Picking

(7 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Timbo

Who here uses strict alternate picking vs. economy picking or some hybrid of the two?

I never paid much attention to my picking when I started playing, and didn't get a good teacher until later on, so I naturally developed an economy picking style. My teacher now says that I'll ultimately be able to play faster and more cleanly if I learn to alternate pick. I'm wondering if the wisest thing to do is to become comfortable with both styles and try to identify the best way to pick individual passages...

Magical rainbow ponies
  2. JorgeRubiales

Well, on the thing about speed, Hal Galper says that the key to play fast is to have fast ears.

The thing of alternate vs. economy is more that of articulation that pure speed. Of course, you have to practice straight picking in order to keep your shape and be able to play at a certain speed (however don't forget your right hand), but the only different thing between the two is when crossing strings. And then, it's you rmusical judgement that must decide when to use one or another.

I, for example, prefer legato lines, so when I can I make slurs, hammer/pulls, and economy. But if the song asks for it, I don't have problems attacking every note, or even playing stacatto.

My advice is to work on both, preferably when working on some other subject, because picking by itself is pretty useless until you have something interesting to "pick" ;)

3. Kapteinar

I'm not much of an alternate picker, but I get by.
    When I was younger I alternate picked everything, but when I started to play jazz I switched to economy and legato.
    I can play pretty fast with only alternate, but to me, the best solution is definetly a mix between the two.

I also hybrid pick, as I think nothing can beat the dynamics of the nails and flesh.