amp settings

(15 posts)

No tags yet.

1. wilmore

curious about peoples amp settings. i've seen kurt with treble-0 middle-8 bass-4. steve cardenas uses treble-2.5 middle-8 bass-5. not sure about monder(poparad?) when i studied with joe diorio he set everything flat. of course it all depends on the amp and room. I've been using treble-2.5 middle-8 bass-3.5 on a twin with good results. anyway i'd love to hear peoples input.
    cheers!

2. Poparad

I have a Deluxe Reverb, which only has treble and bass, and I set the treble between 3-4 and the bass between 6-7. Otherwise that sounds close to what you can the people you mentioned are doing. I keep my guitar's tone somewhere in the middle. Depending on the room or the band, I'll brighten up the tone if need be, or cut bass if it's getting muddy/boomy. I have no idea what Monder sets his stuff to, but I'd imagine it's probably similar. I know he plays (or at least according to one interview a couple years ago) roundwound 12's or 13's that he hasn't changed in years.

3. Matt

hahahah! i hope by saying 'not changed in years' you mean that he hasn't switched brands...

for me, my guitar has a very bass-y sound, so i keep mine at treble=5-6, middle=7, bass=3-5, and presence=5-7. it gets a very throaty, crisp sound. i've never really liked the 'traditional' jazz sound ala pat martino or george benson in terms of tone.

Edit page
  4. JorgeRubiales

There's no point in this kind of posts really, as everybody doesn't look for the same tone, nor can achieve the same even if they had the same rig. Plus, every amp, guitar, pickup, cable, pick...is different, and reacts different over time.