Email

Arpeggios...inspiration needed

(12 posts)
  1. I'm a rookie player and am trying to get my arpeggios to sound more fluid. Right now...I'd say that things sound too much like an exercise when I play through changes. I do realize that this is probably a situation in which I just need to keep at it, but I'm wondering if anyone has any information that could help me see things in a new way and provide inspiration about practicing.

2. JorgeRubiales

I guess you're playing arpeggios with chord tones only. If that's the case, you should try "Bird's way": play the arpeggio of the upper structure of the chord, and mix it up with the chord tones. I have to practice that too....

Email
  3. Thanks for the quick reply Jorge. Just to make sure I understand what you're saying...

If I were to examine a Bb7, you're suggesting to also think about what arpeggios are formed off of the 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th of Bb7?

In this case...
    R - Bb7
    3rd- Dmin7b5
    5th - Fmin7
    7th - Abmaj7
    9th - Cmin7

Is this the correct way to think about this?

Thanks,
    washabaugh

Email
  4. JorgeRubiales

Yes, that way you're imposing another similar sound to the chord. I think this is specially effective if you don't always play the arpeggio from the root, or if you play it "broken"

5. jseaberry

Also, remember that for a dominant chord, you can substitute for it by minor 3rds; so for D7: Ab7, B7, and F7 arps can fit.

Secret
  6. Poparad

That's right about the substitutions, although you don't have to take it that far. From the 3rd always sounds great, and from the 5th sometimes, depending on the chord. From the 7th, even less of the time. The further away from the root you get, the further removed you get from the actual chord, so subs become less and less effective.

Now that said, if you're having trouble just playing from the roots, don't trouble yourself too much with substitution complexities just yet.

7. jseaberry