Evolution of ii - V - I

(5 posts)
  1. piggyfly0000

Hi all,

I'm a few years into playing jazz, and I wanted to hear your personal thoughts on ii - V's. When I started playing, a teacher suggested I should outline the changes of a standard and connect the last note of an arpeggio with another note < a whole step of the next arpeggio. This exercise was great in the beginning but limited my playing in the end. Then I started thinking about tension and release while I paid attention to the rhythm and feel of the music. I tried not to think too much about the "theory" behind my lines. This approach was liberating in a sense, but I still outlined the chords and incorporated some passing notes to phrase my lines. Then, someone suggested I should sing what I would play before I placed my hand on an instrument. I suck at singing, so it helped a little bit. I'm still dissatisfied and need some advice. Can you guys tell me how you started off thinking about ii-Vs, and how you approach them now?

Register
  2. fakejake

I started out pretty much the same way as you described, practicing arpeggios and targeting guide tones. Learning a couple of lines also helps a great deal. Recently I started to work on triad pairs which instantly give you a more modern sound when playing over 251s.
    As with anything in learning an instrument, it's a circular process. I guess you'll always come back to practicing arpeggios and outlining the changes, and each time you grasp more of the underlying concepts and language.
    I'm far from being a good or accomplished player, still I play way better than I ever thought I would when I first started out listening to and playing Jazz, so I guess there is hope....

3. piggyfly0000

I completely agree that learning jazz is very circular. I actually decided to work on my triplet feel today haha.

4. Sandemose