Exercises of your own

(16 posts)
  1. david6strings

This one is for those willing to share their own exercises or things in order to study specific subjects.

I have problems playing subtitutes in a musical way, i just cant hear the lines in my head, neither can see the fingerings easily. anyway i have maked an exercise for myself, what do you think, is it something good to work on?

https://skydrive.live.com/?sc=photos&cid=2eead9b260c7abc5#cid=2EEAD9B260C7ABC5&id=2EEAD9B260C7ABC5%21192&sc=photos

2. Quintricacy

I have been working on chromatic harmony/chord substitution for the last 6 months and it does take a while to get it in your ear. What I do think is very beneficial is to listen to a lot of John Coltrane specifically from around the time he released Coltrane's Sound and Coltrane Plays the Blues. There is so much information in there and it's worth transcribing even 8 bars of his solos just to see where he's coming from.

Contact us
  3. Matt

maybe i'm the odd one out but i never really try to do 'exercises' (although i'm not at the level of working on chromatic harmony). i try to record myself playing a lot and just try to work on developing ideas, feel, and tone. transcription itself, i suppose, is an exericse - i'll extract licks and what not i enjoy and just play them any time the situation is appropriate.

4. JorgeRubiales

@david, I think you would be better trying to hear the general sound of the chords first, to use them as an anchor for what you'll play. An exercise that comes to mind is to play half note chords, the first is the original and the second is the substitute. Maybe singing the root of the original in whole notes too while playing this exercise can help you to hear them better. I'm not near that level, but I'm good at designing exercises hehe.