Feedback solutions for hollowbodies???

(5 posts)
  1. anjroo.burg

I've been playing a small hollow-body for about 6 years and I still haven't figured out how to completely eliminate feedback. I love the tone I get out of it, and I've been trying to figure out a way to run it through some light distortion and effects without any feedback. I can get a great tone at lower volumes, but when I crank it up, it feeds back like crazy. The only partial solution has been shoving wool socks in the f-holes, but this messes with the tone of the guitar. Any solutions guys? (besides standing position and socks)

If you happen to read this, Kurt---have you had any feedback issues with your full-size Moffa, or other hollow-bodies? Any solutions?

-A

2. egav

What kind of guitar is it? Do you have a floating pickup on it, or is it sunken in, and if sunken in, are there one or two pickups?
    Floating pickups provides no "grip" on the top plate, therefore it will vibrate like crazy when you hit the right frequency and cause insane feedback. Sunken in sort of "grips" the plate and allows it to vibrate less, and with two of those feedback will hardly be a problem.

There's many solutions for this. My own is just to get to know my amp and my guitar. After a lot of tinkering, I have a setting that produces no feedback whatsoever. I use a fully acoustic archtop with a floater. The key is to know how to level the bass in the amp with the low end sound your guitar produces acoustically. It seems to me that bass frequencies are the bigger problem in feedbacking for archtops.

Other solutions, which I would not spend the money on, is to cover up the holes on the guitar. There are professional foam plugs (I believe Doug's Plugs) that will charge you somewhere around 60 bucks for a pair. You can make your own though with rubber foam. You can also just tape up the holes.