Magical rainbow ponies

Fingerstyle/Nail shape

(11 posts)

No tags yet.

1. guitar1025

Hey guys!

Looking for some help and my question has two parts to it.

1. For those of you that are into classical/fingerstyle playing, what materials/exercises would you recommend for building this technique? I started out as a rock guy and moved to jazz. Now I play many different styles but I feel my fingerstyle technique is not where it needs to be.

2. For those of you who play with your nails, what do you recommend for nail size/shape? I've experimented for a long time with long nails/no nails. I find the no nails approach is just fine if I'm just playing chords (Ted Greene style). But I feel the nails work better for articulating lines, etc.

As always, any help is much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

2. mikelorenz

My degree is in jazz studies but I took classical lessons for 5 of my 8 semesters in college. Even got to learning some legit repertoire but didn't really pursue it like I did jazz.

Anyways...

1) The Giuliani 120 Exercises for the Right Hand is essential. I'd start there for sure...

2) For playing finger style I'm on the "pro-nail" side of things. The nail shouldn't be freakishly long but it should be beyond the end of your finger. An even, rounded shape is best but everyones nails grow differently. If you don't like the tone you're getting from the nail sound you can always buff your nails with a nail buffer to get a really smooth edge. I agree with you, it really is necessary if you're going to articulate single note lines.

3. mf

good luck. i got into the whole classical/fingerstyle thing, but ended up spending more time on my nails than my instrument. for some reason i just could never get the sound i wanted. or if i did, after a few minutes of playing my nails would change slightly and the sound would be gone. infuriating. now i only use a pick.

4. guitar1025

Thanks for the advice guys!