Register

Guitar Related Injuries

(13 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Hey guys,
    For awhile now, probably a year or so, I have been having arm issues related to guitar playing. Basically, I learned how to play with alot of tension in my shoulders and now my arms are suffering because of it: my tendons and arms in general are always really sore and I am having really bad circulation in my arms. I am working on fixing my problem by spending a lot of time in front of the mirror everyday trying to play completely relaxed but because I am a music student and play gigs every so often I still spend alot of time playing with alot of tension because that's what I know how to do. I have been considering doing Tai Chi or something like that, which might lead me to be more relaxed and I have been reading about the Alexander technique, which seems like it could help.
    Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone has had any similar experience and if so, if you have found any resolution.
    I feel that I need to deal with this soon because it is really threatening my musical future.
    thanks for the replies,
    Grant

2. jimjazz

Hey Grant,

I've had problems in the past which still crop up from time to time, mainly pain under my forearms and at its worst pins and needles in my 4th and 3rd finger (a sign of real trouble!).

Relaxing helps a lot, I always try to practise (like you) being conscious of my posture and any tension in my body. I've found a little yoga and low impact exercise like swimming has helped a lot. Also taking my time to warm up before playing by doing gentle stretches and keeping my environment, or me, at a good temperature (not always easy in the north of England!).
    I also think its important to warm down after you play to release the build up of lactic acid which, I'm informed, is what can cause muscle damage.