Help with my Sound

(17 posts)

Tags:

1. Chris

Hello y'all..

I am a Student.
    I use a Fender Deluxe Reverb with the Treble rolled completely off, Bass at 4, Reverb just below 3,
    and Speed/Intensity at 0.
    I love how this sounds using either my es 175 or Strat - running clean into the Vibrato channel of the amp. Love it.
    Sometimes I use a bit of Delay. I mainly use the MXR Carbon Copy but also have a Boss DD7 and experiment with both of them (not on gigs but in the woodshed) trying to decide which I like better (or if they are both lame). Still things sound great.. Very professional, very clean. I like it.

However..
    When I throw distortion in the mix my sound just falls apart. I bought an 80s RAT. Still trying to figure out the best way to incorporate it. Even when I find levels I like (Distorion, Filter, Volume), the sound is not concentrated enough. Too many overtones. Advice? Should I get a compressor? Or would an EQ solve this problem? How can I get a good distorted-concentrated sound? What would Kurt do?

Using the Deluxe Reverb, how can I get a louder sound out of my es 175 without getting feedback? What would Bernstein do?

At the small music school I attend, all the ensemble rooms have massive florescent lights. How can I get rid of the sound of frying eggs?

I've always used a touch of Spring Reverb. Even with the distortion on. Is that my problem? Should I kill the Reverb completely?

How is the Blue Sky Reverb. The HolyGrail? I never really got why people had reverb pedals if they were playing out of a fender. Huh? Maybe I should try these pedals, they must be good ehh.

If you can answer these questions - I owe you a drink.
    Best

2. jorgemg1984

That's a lot of questions...