How to study the melodic minor scale?

(10 posts)

No tags yet.

1. omolina

Hi!!! I am studying the different modes of melodic minor scale, but I would like to know how to think at the time of study. I have to think of them as separate modes?, think of the scale to which they belong?, or thinking patterns?, which I think to play them around the neck?

2. Poparad

Yes, yes, yes, and yes.

Secret
  3. jorgemg1984

Actually thats a personal choice that applies to every scale - if if you think over the specific chord or the tonal center. I was really surprised when Kurt told in a workshop here in Lisbon he reduced everything to major, minor harmonic, minor melodic or symetrical scales. He said he used cardboxes to get used to it.

The more tunes you play or solos you write the more you will get it, I found a middle way that´s good to me. For example if I am in Cmaj7 and a Em7 or Am7 shows up I dont think phrygian or eolian, I think in Cmajor7. Or if its a really tonal tune like the beginning of Skylark or At Long Last Love I just think of the tonal center.

With the melodic minor scale you have to find what suits you best. I reduce the melodic minor to two chords: C melodic minor (which I also use for Ebmajt#5 and Am7b5 nat 9 if it comes after Cm7) and B altered (which I also use for Dsus4b9 and F7#11). G7 9b13 I can think about the actual chord. Am7b5 nat 9 on a II V I thin locrian nat 9. But this is the way I think, is sort of a middle way between one scale one chord and always relating to the first degree...

4. geetarted

I like to think of the only minor pentatonic that occurs in the melodic minor scale. On the second step/interval of the scale is a minor pentatonic. In C melodic minor you get a D pentatonic scale. All the harmonic uses of all the modes aside, it's a great open sound. 3..4 notes a string.. Combining 2 pentatonic shapes together.. To get the full scale out of this approach you just add the b9 and the natural 13th to the pentatonic.