Kurt And Everyone Else: Wanna start recording things! Where do I start?

(4 posts)

No tags yet.

1. RicardoGrilli

Hey cats!

I wanna start getting into recording/producing jazz. Have a pretty decent Mac and was wondering what would be the next step!
    An Mbox? Any ideas?

Thanks loads!

2. For your own purposes? Or producing other people? I just got a zoom h4n . I am not very tech savvy and find it pretty easy to use and the quality is excellent.

Edit page
  3. RicardoGrilli

Hey Floatinbridge!

I should have specified, sorry!
    I mean more in terms of building a home studio, to use myself and eventually other people.

Thanks

4. JorgeRubiales

If you want to record several people at the same time you'll need an audio interface with as many microphone preamps as micrphones you'll be putting, plus line inputs in case of electric bass going direct.... I wouldn't choose the mbox series, they're expensive and don't give much for your money. In general, motu,tascam, etc. are good choices. You need to choose, depending on what ports do you have, if you want an USB2 or firewire interface. Doesn't matter much really, just in case you want to upgrade your computer in a future you're stuck with looking for an especific port.

If you plan to record several people and one or more instruments are going direct to line, you'll need headphones, and probably a headphone amplifier to deliver the signal to more than one. This isn'tcompletely necessary right now, but multi-people sessions without headphones can be a chaos.

Regarding microphones, I've tried the studio projects B1, they're quite decent for the money, and come with an anti-shock holder. They've got cardioid, 8 and omni patterns, and have a plain, high pass or -40db pad. They aren't neumann's, but hey, are cheap.