Edit page

Need Help Playing Jazz

(18 posts)

No tags yet.

1. bingefeller

Well guys, I've been trying on and off for a number of years now to play jazz and I just can't do it! I have bought books with Pat Metheny transcriptions, Joe Pass transcriptions etc and I just can't even get close to the rythms of phrasing of those guys at any decent speed! I have a Jim Hall Signature Licks book and I can play some stuff at slow tempos, but when it comes to ramping up the speed a little I just can't do it! It's funny because I'm a rock guitarist I can actually find it easier to play most rock stuff, with even more complex phrasing, than jazz tunes. What's going on here?

I have jazz chord books too and I can play the chords and I remember their names, it's just the lead playing that I can't get.
    I know a lot of guys say tap your foot on 2 and 4 but I always go back to 1 and 3 and I think this could be part of my problem! I just cannot manage fast tempos with tapping on 2 and 4.

What should I do?

2. guitar1025

Hey bingefeller,

The best piece of advice I can offer you is. . .relax. Don't try to take on too much to start with. I remember when I became interested in jazz I used to listen to Pat Metheny and think "the stuff he's playing is physically impossible."

I have a Jim Hall Signature Licks book and I can play some stuff at slow tempos, but when it comes to ramping up the speed a little I just can't do it!

There is absolutely nothing wrong with starting slow. Whenever I'm trying to learn ANYTHING new, I put the metronome on an obnoxiously low setting. I then practice it over and over again until I don't have to think about it. Then I move the metronome up 10-20 clicks and repeat. Eventually you'll get to a tempo where you can't play it and then you back up 5-10 clicks and move forward at smaller increments.