New year resolution: arpeggios

(21 posts)
  1. JorgeRubiales

Happy new year to everyone!

This year I've decided to put my arpeggios down once for all. However, I'm encountering some issues, and I hope the folks of this forum can help me to get this down.

First of all, I'm learning with a kind of CAGED method in my conservatory. Scales were easy, but with arpeggios I somewhat mess the diagrams in my head, and every time I try to learn them I end up frustrated and skip to another thing. But I can't keep doing this anymore!

Right now I'm studying every pattern by itself, and trying to switch roots being in the same position (so around fifth position I try to go from Cmaj7 to Fmaj7 and back). Thats fine, I can handle it. But whenever I try to add another change I'm stuck and I have to repeat my Cmaj7 pattern in fifth position, and then repeat again the new pattern (say Dmaj7 for example).

Have you encountered similar diffculties with arpeggios? Scales were not a problem at all for me, but this is really driving me crazy!

Are there any suggestions or different exercises you do to practice arpeggios?

Thank you all, and I hope 2011 brings you a lot of music and Kurt's concerts in your town! ;)

2. silverwater

Here's the deal Jorge:

I'm not familiar with the CAGED method. But when your knowledge of the fretboard and of the names of the notes that make up any give chord are sufficient, you're not going to care what the patterns are. Those patterns that you're toiling over right now are just to help you "find" the notes.

In fact, you should be more concerned right now with the names of the notes than the shape of the patterns. If you're running into issues, you're probably trying to play too fast.

Here's an exercise that will help you memorize the neck and the spellings of chords:

1. Pick Take a tune, let's say "all the things".

2. Pick a position, let's say III

3. Start on the first available note of the first chord (fm7), which is Ab.