Question For Kurt - Best Locations/Schools for young Musicians

(9 posts)
  1. Basile865

Hello Kurt and everyone,

I am a young guitarist who's looking to make a career as a musician (like so many of us) and wanted to know what you feel about location in regards to getting the best education and experience. I am 24, got a degree in Marketing mainly to have a "safety net" if making a career in music didn't work out (ha ha). Little did I know the economy would crash and finding a job atleast in North Carolina would be REALLY tough. Music is my life and passion, I've been playing for 16 years - although I've only just begun to study jazz players. I mainly came from the Hendrix/SRV side of things but you're playing, story, and writing is hugely inspiring to me. In North Carolina I find that the scene is mostly comprised of Gospel Music and Cover Bands. I've spent a while on the gospel scene, and learned a lot through it, the cover band thing is not for me, and now Jazz is my goal. I want to be able to be a Musician, and not just a guitarist.

The question posed to you, and anyone else who has input, should I pack my bags and go to Philly/NYC? Or study at Berkelee? I want to be among other people like myself who are really hungry, dedicated, professional, and demand excellence from themselves. On one hand I'm a bit scared to take out big loans to do the Berkelee thing, especially considering I might come out on the other side majorly in debt and no way to pay it off. On the other hand I'm desperate to be among great musicians, to be able to go out and get my ass kicked and learn like crazy.