Private

Question from aspiring musician

(9 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Gesture

Hey guys.

There's a thing that has been bothering me for some time and this forum seems like the perfect place to get it off my chest.

Here's my story:
    I've been playing guitar for about 12 years (I'm 24) and this year I got rejected for the second time at my auditions for a (jazz)conservatory.
    Last year the main critique was my timing. Although I've grown quite a bit as a player this year I still did not get in. My harmonic and chordal knowledge is pretty good and I have good hearing, since i've been playing music since I was 6, but the teachers told me I have a serious lack of rhythmic expression in my playing.

Now this is something I believe I can work and improve at (although it's a lot harder than studying harmony and stuff), and I'll probably do audition again next year. But at the same time I'm starting to have my doubts.
    First because of my age and secondly because I haven't been in a situation where I get to play with other musicians a lot for about a year now.
    Don't get me wrong: I absolutely love music and a day doesn't go by without listening to and playing music. I'm just not sure if it's a sensible thing to do when I'm turning 25 next year and I lack some 'real' playing experience.
    It might be worth to mention I do have a "backup" bachelors degree in engineering.

I know age shouldn't be an issue in music when it's your passion, but when it comes to getting a serious career in (jazz)music how important do you guys think it is to be relatively young?

If there's people having a career in music i hope they (or Kurt) can give their opinion/advice.

Thanks in advance!

2. jorgemg1984

Can you give me your e-mail? I was in a VERY similar situation in the past but I rather keep some of my thoughts out of the Internet.

3. TruthHertz