Question about jazz

(15 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Din

Hi guys
    First of all, I want to say that i'm not trolling, not trying to bother anyone at all, I just need to ask this
    I'm a musician, big fan of Kurt, and I'm studying jazz since 2005
    I know a lot of theory (really a lot), harmony, and have studied 4 years of ear training
    However, there is still a lot of jazz music I can't really apreciate, not from sound, neither from the theory
    I dig (and I really mean it) most of Kurt's music (I love most of his albums) and modern jazz more than bebop and other "styles".
    I know what's going on when a standard is played, I know how to play arpeggios, scales, chromatics, subs, etc. However, I like when a standard is played the same way the head of it is played. That's why I really like Reflections for example, all the solos are melodic and there isn't any note that doesn't make sense (to my ears).
    But when that doesn't happen in jazz, and it doesn't even attracts to me by it's theory of "what is going on" (time signature, arrangement or whatever), it bores me to death, I can't avoid it.
    Another thing I can't understand is when the music has an harmony that's like really dense and really outside, with things not resolving, etc.
    I'm not trying to be arrogant. I suposse there is something I'm missing, and I hope anyone of you guys can explain to me what I'm doing wrong in my listening.
    Oh, by the way, I know that interaction is supossed to be a big part of jazz, but there's plenty of times when I don't hear it neither, so that aspect sometimes seems to be out of the equation.

Thanks a lot, really.

2. Gia5

Hi Din.