Solo Jazz guitar gig.

(8 posts)
  1. g_2_the_izzo

Hi all,

I've been playing jazz guitar for the last 5 years or so and classical before that. I've gotten pretty solid at playing chord melody and can do some decent improvisation with it. Recently, there have been a few postings for gigs in my area where they are looking for a solo jazz musician to play happy hour slots. I think I could reasonably manage to get together enough tunes to play it (2- 3 hours) but I'm a bit concerned that all the songs will sound the same. I don't know if that makes sense to you guys?

I bought a loop station and that seems to let me get a break from the limitations I have with my chord melody. The downside is that the looped changes become incredibly boring themselves...

Do any of you guys have experience with playing a solo jazz guitar gig? Do you use a loop pedal for that or backing tracks? What advice do you have on expanding the possibilities of chord melody to make each tune sound fresh for a general audience that might not be hip to the subtleties of jazz? Any general advice on chord melody?

Thanks,
    Geoff.

2. jbroad

i've done a bunch of solo gigs and i know what you're saying about keeping things fresh (especially when you have to do 3 one hour sets). i try to mix up the types of tunes. remember- you don't have to stick to standards. i will throw in some steely dan, pink floyd, radiohead, and michael jackson tunes just to keep things interesting. people really love those tunes and i always get comments on those.