Edit page

Taking My Playing Up A Level.

(9 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Hello, everyone.

I am a guitarist seeking to take my playing to the "next" level. My ear is pretty good and my reading is decent, sight reading is passable but certainly needs improvement. I do gig, and certainly do very well in the style I play in, but it doesn't keep me satisfied.

I currently play in a style similar to that of Kenny Burrell, Grant Green, etc. ... kind of a soul-jazz feel. Most of my improvising is based on staying harmonically static (play in a key rather than over harmonic changes).

I want to gain the knowledge and skill to be able to play over changes confidently with fluidity, with a kind of modern voice that you hear in guys like Kurt, Pat, Gilad Hekselman (Check that cat out if you haven't, unbelievable) ... that kind of contemporary sound ... very sharp angles, almost geometric yet organic.

Any suggestions about how to take this next step? What concepts should I employ, how do I practice this, any books, etc? I appreciate your help very much.

Michael

2. cruxtable

i don't pretend to be a master at this, but here's my take:

transcribe! anything you can hear those guys playing, you could potentially play - just figure out what they're playing and how it fits in - or how it doesn't fit. transcribe and analyze - make sure you know how each note fits in harmonically and rhythmically.

make sure you know all your scales - the 7 modes of major, melodic minor and its modes (some of those modes are used almost never), harmonic minor (and modes, if you're ambitious), whole tone, and especially DIMINISHED! i hear so many guys using diminished scales and patterns to play over dominant chords (such as gilad's triad lick at 4:13 on this video:

[+] Embed the video | Video DownloadGet the Flash Video