TC Electronic Nova System

(5 posts)

No tags yet.

1. Benny

I mentioned in the live Smalls chat the other night that I bought the TC Electronic Nova System this week so I thought I'd start a thread about it.

The Nova System is a high quality yet affordable multi-effects unit. I was looking for something more portable than my current pedalboard (a loaded Pedaltrain 2). I haven't had much time to get deep into its functions (lots of parameters to play with) but the early signs are very promising. I can see it replacing my pedals. It can make all the key sounds I need (though I wish it had a modulated delay).

You can use the unit like a conventional pedalboard (one switch for each effect type) or in a preset mode. Right now, I am running it in 'pedal mode' with tremolo, hall reverb, octave, tape delay and overdrive. One of the nice features of the Nova System is that the overdrive/distortion is analog but controlled digitally. I'm no overdrive expert but I've dialled in a RAT-type sound. There is separate 'boost' switch to give a couple of extra db when you need it.

I need to spend some time tweaking the input and output levels but I haven't noticed any tone loss. There is no way to actually 'bypass' the unit and I'm not sure if the signal still goes through A/D/A conversion when the effects aren't engaged.

I spent a lot of time looking into this unit before buying. The Line 6 M13 looks like a toy next to it.

2. jorgemg1984

Hi, I am thinking about buying one of these - I dont want to cary my expensive pedal board everywhere and I need something with a good delay and good hall reverb (and no amp modeling). This seems perfect, are you happy with it? I love TC stuff

3. Kapteinar